Fashion, makeup, Photography, Trends

2017 Photography Journey: Part 2 – Psychotropical

On yet another photography journey, I was tasked with ‘creating a cover’ for the iconic fashion magazine i-D.  We needed to encapsulate a current trend within the look and feel of the photo shoot as well as keep in line with i-D’s renowned look. Obviously the main specification we needed to keep in mind was the i-D wink.

In every i-D cover image the model is either winking or has a prop strategically placed over their eye. Honestly I don’t know how they do it. How does a model strike a pose, hold a wink and remain looking absolutely flawless?  Even Photoshop can’t correct the anguishing facial expressions I pull when trying to wink. So I thought,’ why the bother’ and decided to rather use a prop to create this  cheeky peak-a-boo look.

The trend I decided to use in my concept was found on, every fashion students saving grace, WGSN. The look is called Pyschotropical and was depicted as a trend for S/S18, focusing on bright colours, botanical prints and a complete mix and match of textiles. I was immediately drawn to the green leafy prints and the incorporation of nature into the trend mood boards and as a nature lover myself I was instantly in love.

Here is an idea of the look and feel of the Psychotropical trend for S/S17. This mood board was found on Trendy Today

Psychotropical-Moodboard (1)

And of course, every time a project like this comes up, I thank my lucky starts (if you’re into that kind of thing) that I have pretty friends. It was super easy to find this gem of a model as we went to high school together and now study, not every 2km away from each other.

It was such a treat to shoot this fun and vibrant photo shoot as well as edit it to create the i-D look. I hope you like my work. And if not? Well, that doesn’t matter. Isn’t that what creativity is all about?

FINAL
Final i-D Cover Page

Leave a comment